Amazing Movie Theater Popcorn At Home

Popcorn is probably my all-time favorite snack.  I can (and sometimes do) eat it every single day.  I love the crunch – I love the butter – I love the salt.  I do not love the kernels stuck between my teeth, but that’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make.  My most favorite of all is movie theater popcorn.  That is the main reason I go to the movies (which is only a few times a year these days).  I get my bag filled half way up, head to the butter (aka hydrogenated oil) machine, load it up, get it filled the rest of the way with popcorn, and then refill on butter.  Then I top it off with some salt and I am in heaven!

When I was growing up, my Grandma made popcorn on the stove top – shaking the pan as the kernels began popping.  That’s an image ingrained in my memory that I will never forget.  I don’t know why it had such an impact on me – maybe the novelty of it and how old-fashioned it was compared to our newfangled air popper!

popcorn

Up until a couple of years ago, I indulged in microwave popcorn and enjoyed it.  Then I decided to try making popcorn Grandma’s way, and fell in love.  My dad and I tweaked the recipe just a bit, and I think it’s pretty close to perfect.   It is so tasty – just like at the theater!

Disclaimer:  Many people choose popcorn because it’s a healthy, low-fat snack.  This is not that popcorn.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 cups popcorn kernels
1 stick butter (Yep, one whole stick.  Paula Deen would be so proud!)
1/4 cup coconut oil
Salt to taste

DSC_0003

First, get a big saucepan with a lid and heat your coconut oil over high heat until it melts.  During this time, melt your butter in a glass measuring cup in the microwave.

DSC_0004

(Going back to my post about being real, please appreciate my meticulously clean burners in these photos.)

Next, add your kernels and put the lid on.  Periodically shake the whole pan so the kernels don’t stick or burn.

DSC_0005

When the kernels begin popping, shake the pan more frequently.DSC_0016DSC_0020

Yes, I am wearing an apron.  No, I do not wear an apron for any other cooking or baking that I do.  Just popping corn.  Really, I do recommend it because the coconut oil pops and will stain up your clothes!

After it seems that all the kernels have popped, dump the popcorn into a large massively huge bowl.  Or two big bowls will work.DSC_0024DSC_0036

At this point, I took the lid off the pan before the kernels were done popping.  Popcorn went EVERYWHERE!  Of course I’ve made popcorn 174 times, and the time I’m having Chris take pictures for my blog, our kitchen becomes a popcorn fountain.

DSC_0035

Logan appreciated the popcorn raining down from heaven.

DSC_0032

I am still laughing at the fiasco we are having in the kitchen here.

Pour part of the butter over the top, add salt, and toss with salad tongs (using salad tongs will make you feel like you are preparing something healthy so you will have less guilt over eating the popcorn).  Continue tossing, buttering, and salting until all of the popcorn has been seasoned.  Yum!!

DSC_0047

DSC_0056

Chris told me I looked angry in some of the pictures so I tried to look really pleasant here.  I don’t always smile at the popcorn as I toss it.

Luckily, the popcorn keeps well, even uncovered in the bowl, so you don’t have to feel pressured to finish it all in one sitting!  Happy popping!

3 thoughts on “Amazing Movie Theater Popcorn At Home

Leave a comment