Real

quote2

I think this quote is so true.  At least for me it is.  The more I look around and see what appears to be perfection in others, the further from perfect I feel.

I have had so many conversations lately about the perfection of facebook and pinterest, and the pressure that we – women, wives, mothers – put on ourselves to be perfect.  Not even just real life perfect – internet perfect – a kind of perfection that doesn’t really exist.

Now, I love facebook.  It is a wonderful way to keep up with old friends, share funny stories & big life moments.  But it’s not real.  It’s not life. Facebook is our highlight reel.  It is the best of the best of us and our family. That’s okay too.  I know we all have people in our newsfeed who share real life with us, and way too often.  We hear about every fight they have with their spouse, every time they feel even slightly under the weather, every time their child gets on their nerves.  I’m not advocating that!  But I do think it’s important to remember what facebook and pinterest are – the highlight reel.

Real life happens between the facebook-ready moments.  It happens in the midst of whiny kids, and laundry to fold, and errands to run.  Life is these things.  It’s definitely not perfect. It’s messy and disjointed, and sometimes it hurts.

But life is beautiful.  It is the greatest gift.  It’s all we have.  If we don’t learn to take joy in the in-betweens, we will find ourselves always living for the perfect moment and feeling like we never measure up.

So, in an attempt to share real life with you, here are a few of our less than perfect moments.

This is sweet Claire – in timeout.  Fits are the season we are currently in.  And whining. Chris and I are not fans of either, so Claire often finds herself in this corner.

DSC_0006

Here’s our laundry chair.  At least that’s what Claire calls it, and that’s honestly a very accurate name for it.  This chair has a pile of laundry in it always – well, at least 97% of the time.

DSC_0024

This is my sewing machine.  It’s on the top shelf of the closet.  I got it for Christmas in 2011 with big dreams of all the cute dresses I would sew for Claire.  So far the number of projects I’ve completed is…0.  Sewing is hard work and I am not as patient as I thought.  Someday I guess.

DSC_0019

Here’s our bed.  It’s not made and it’s covered with laundry.  This is not the exception.  It’s the rule.

DSC_0004

Here’s Claire’s baby book.  It is filled with all the sweet and wonderful memories from her first year of life.  She’s 3 1/2 now.  Next to the book is the pile of memories that have happened in the 2 1/2 years since her first birthday.  Somehow I haven’t managed to squeeze 30 minutes out of the past couple years to add them to the book.

DSC_0021

Finding joy in the journey is all a matter of perspective.  If you can’t find any roses, stop and smell the dandelions.

5 thoughts on “Real

  1. Oh My Girlie…what a beautiful, heartfelt post!! I so agree with you.
    If, you EVER want to do an easy sewing project, just let me know when you’ll be in town and you can come here and we’ll do one together. I have a sewing room always set up and ready to go.
    I know how it feels to have a machine and to be intimidated to use it! It sucks! It happens to everyone when they are starting out.
    OBTW, I finally put all my “kids” (ages 39 & 44) pictures in boxes for them to sort out! LOL!
    You are an amazing wife, mama, daughter, niece AND teacher! Never forget that.
    Love ya

    • Thanks, Cheryl!
      My mom and Ashton both helped me a lot with my sewing projects. My mom ended up making Claire 2 very cute little sun dresses with the stuff I bought to use! Ha! I really may take you up on your offer sometime though. I would love to learn…it’s really just a matter of laziness and impatience! I thought it would be so simple.
      I’m sure ML and Drichelle will love their photo boxes even more now than they would have when they were kids. 🙂
      Love you, love you!

  2. Pingback: Amazing Movie Theater Popcorn At Home | joy in our little journey

Leave a Reply

