Our Adoption Story: The Starting Line

I originally posted this as a note on facebook back in the fall and now I’ve uploaded it here.

Chris and I are excited to announce that we are expecting a baby…someday!

Let’s start from the beginning…

In April I was diagnosed with endometriosis and had surgery in May.  We found out that the endometriosis had spread to many of my organs and had clogged my fallopian tubes.  So, getting pregnant seemed near to impossible. We tried a couple of rounds of clomid (which causes ovulation) while thinking through our options – in vitro, embryo adoption, traditional adoption.  Through the course of a few months, the Lord whittled down our options to one – adoption.  We were left with a peace about adopting that we really couldn’t even put into words.

Chris has always wanted to adopt, but I had always looked at is as “Plan B”.  I thought that we would adopt after we were done having kids of our own, or if we were forced into it.  I was amazed when I began to feel an excitement in my heart about the prospect of adopting.  A precious friend told me, “Shannon, you can’t go wrong when you care for orphans.”  (James 1:27)  Those words put such a peace in my heart and started me on the road to joy in this journey.  Adoption has become so personal to me, and it is such a beautiful picture of God bringing us into his family and loving us as his own.

In the past when I would take a pregnancy test, I would feel a sense of desperation as I checked to see if I was carrying our next child.  The last month I took a test, I found myself hoping that I wasn’t pregnant so that we could adopt our next little one.  The Lord had filled my heart with joy and expectation, and a sense that this is “Plan A” for us.

So now we are beginning this journey…and learning how to wait.  We will be going to Gladney in Fort Worth later this month for orientation and we will get to learn about the whole process.  It’s amazing to me to think that our precious child may already be conceived, and growing strong and healthy in a womb.  When I think about the destiny of our child I am so humbled that the Lord has already made plans for one of his precious daughters to allow her child to become a part of our family.

“For you created my inmost being;  you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body;  all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”  (Psalm 139:13 – 16)

We always believed that Claire was a miracle baby, and now we know for sure that she is.  We are thrilled when we imagine the next miracle child God will place into our lives.  Please keep us and our new addition in your prayers!Image

Leave a Reply

